Week two : Wales

Having my daughter’s lovely Aussie friend from Hong Kong with us for two weeks is encouraging us to go out and explore Wales more than we usually do. To say all of us love books would be an understatement so you can imagine our excitement at spending a day in the world famous town of Hay on Wye on the Wales/England border.

http://www.hay-on-wye.co.uk/bookshops/default.asp

We looked at everything from a full display of 1930s Penguin books to Garfield to the thinnest book on China I’ve ever seen.

IMG_2131IMG_2136 IMG_2129

My friend and former boss in Hong Kong (sob) Teacher Librarian extraordinaire, Debbie Alvarez aka The Styling Librarian http://thestylinglibrarian.com would have been in her element here. Each bookshop has old and new children’s books with super displays and child friendly areas to explore. It was a hard day too, I found it difficult knowing I wasn’t going back to my job in Hong Kong as a Library Assistant in a primary school where I have worked for the last six years. I would love to go back and share and enthuse with students and colleagues about this wonderful town and its books. I am lucky my family and friends put up with me rambling on about books endlessly.

Chair in the children's areaMichael Morpurgo booksEnid Blyton

We spent a day exploring the centre of Cardiff, capital city of Wales and home to rugby and Dr Who and some interestingly named cheeses.

IMG_2144DalekIMG_2141

Transition is still happening too. Whilst we were out my email notifications didn’t stop. I’ve continued the negotiations about the handing back of our house, had conversations with the kids about decorating said house and rummaged through father-in-law’s basement where we have items in storage, deciding if the microwave will still work after 12 years! I still have the attic to go through, a far more daunting task. I’m excited about mixing our UK and Asian furniture though, hoping to blend our two experiences into one meaningful and reflective home that shows our journey as a family.

It’s also a transition time for my daughter who is half way through her two year A level courses. We took a trip to see Loughborough University, what a wonderful place to study, good courses, good accommodation and great sporting facilities; she was very happy. Happy daughter = happy parent!

2 thoughts on “Week two : Wales

  1. Lovely reflection, hip hooray for book rambling (and tolerant listeners) and LOVED seeing the pictures! ❤ 🙂 Best of luck with negotiations, merging of lives, and unpacking of long forgotten artifacts! *Hugs!*

Leave a Reply

