Week one : departing in style

Twelve years ago hubby and I were driving to a friend’s wedding when he said he’d been offered two opportunities with his then employer, one in Sheffield and one in Hong Kong, what did I think? As I’d spent my childhood moving around the UK, moving held no fears for me and wow, this was Hong Kong! Sheffield somehow never really got discussed…..December 2001 saw hubby and I and daughter (just 6) and son (almost 5) board our flight ready for Happy Valley Hong Kong.

Fast forward to June 2013. With eldest child (17) already in the UK at school and hubby about to embark on a new job travelling around the whole of Africa, we decided it was time for me and child number two (16) to head back to the UK.BUT he decided the only way for me to go back was in style. Two FIRST CLASS tickets were procured (love it when Asia Miles actually works) and after enjoying the FIRST CLASS lounge, son and me stretched out on our 6ft beds and slept for seven straight hours.

Departures at Hong Kong AirportReady to go through immigration and hand baggage checks

Our house is rented out until August so my lovely and long-suffering parents are putting my son and me up for our first four days, we’ve enjoyed sunny Brighton. We also got the opportunity to see my brother, sister-in-law and nephew too. It’s the main joy about being back here, re-connecting with my family and I know I’m going to relish time spent with them in a way I didn’t appreciate before going away.

Since then I’ve bought a car (thanks Dad for doing all the research beforehand), got a UK SIM card, arranged for my damaged suitcase to be repaired and …..

IMG_2118

dealt with Dad being unexpectedly being admitted to hospital with pneumonia (now recovering thank goodness) and sorted out lots of little things that needed doing as part of repatriation.

All too soon we were back at Heathrow to collect daughter’s friend from Hong Kong, then off to Cardiff (home of father-in-law) for the next two weeks. Then best bit so far was being able to share, for only the second time, Parents’ Day at daughter’s school and then bring her back for the summer. The pleasure we are all getting knowing that we don’t have to force everything into just a few weeks is wonderful. The pressure cooker feeling I get most summers just isn’t here, phew!

14 thoughts on “Week one : departing in style

    1. Thanks Debbie, really appreciate your feedback, you’re such amazing blogger yourself. You will really enjoy next week’s blog, we went to Hay on Wye! I’ll be uploading some photos to the Bradbury Library page showing Mrs Perrin in the children’s book shop there. Might amuse some of our children.

  1. Sarah Aumayer

    Brilliant to hear a little bit of your news Debra and to know how you are spending the next few weeks and what you are enjoying. Hope to see you sometime soon x

    1. Sarah I am so hoping we get to catch up regularly. This summer is busy but I’d love to combine dropping my kids off at Millfield with perhaps a visit to you and see your amazing glass creations xx

  2. Anne

    I enjoyed reading your blog. Your wee parcel is still with me. I think this time there is more of a chance of me delivering it personally to your place in August! Don’t worry I shall give you enough time to change the locks! Wishing you all the joy and warmth of having your family around and the start of a new English adventure. See you around FB. All my love from a very hot Manila. Anne

    1. Thanks for reading Anne. I look forward to seeing you in the UK, just let me know when you are coming. I am loving being with Rhiannon again as well as the rest of my family, very special time. The downside is that it is very cold at the moment although I’ve been promised sunshone by the weekend! Love to you all

  3. Hanna

    Keep it up Debra! Love hearing about your adventures on the busy road through Life.
    I trust you are enjoying being back home and reconnecting with people.
    //Hanna

    1. Thanks Hanna. I’m going to do a weekly blog posting every Tuesday. On this site you can write up and save as a draft so I’m doing it daily and then editing just before I post. I learned all this from Debbie! I’m so enjoying being back with family and friends, hope you are too.

  4. So lovely to read your blog! Kyp has one and he loves posting his jaunts and experiences, he loves to share them & he thinks you will love sharing yours too! Welcome back to the UK, hope we meet up soon, if you can stand the dog hairs you are more than welcome to stay here anytime. X

    1. I will find Kyp’s blog and start following! I’m also hoping to come oop norf and would love to stay and catch up. I’ve already seen the Browns and in a fortnight I see the Youngsons,you’re next on my list Jayne xx

  5. Elaine

    So lovely to hear your news in the UK! What else is better than being with your family! Reading your blog will definitely be my thing to look forward to every week. Take care!

  6. Donna

    Hi. Great idea and wonderful job with the blog – you know I’ll be looking forward to each entry (and nagging you if I think it’s too far between entries). Enjoy the time with your family. xxx

  7. Alison

    Lovely to read your news. I hope it all goes well and I shall look forward to seeing you in October. We are enjoying being European again….although nowhere near as stylish as the Italians!

Leave a Reply

